The Little League World Series

I am looking forward to watching the Little League World Series with my son, Lefty.  I think he is getting to the age where he can relate more to the players.  In the past, they may have appeared to be “big kids” to him.  But now, they are just a few years older than he.  Although, the size of some of these 12 year-olds may still make him think these are adults.

The United States teams have won the most championships.  Taiwan is next.  California leads all U.S. entries with five world championships.

Championships won by country/state

Team Championships Last
Taiwan Taiwan / Chinese Taipei Chinese Taipei 17 1996
Japan Japan 7 2010
California California 7 2011
Pennsylvania Pennsylvania 4 1960
Connecticut Connecticut 4 1989
New Jersey New Jersey 4 1998
Mexico Mexico 3 1997
Georgia (U.S. state) Georgia 3 2007
New York New York 2 1964
Texas Texas 2 1966
South Korea South Korea 2 1985
Venezuela Venezuela 2 2000
Hawaii Hawaii 2 2008
Alabama Alabama 1 1953
New Mexico New Mexico 1 1956
Michigan Michigan 1 1959
Washington (state) Washington 1 1982
Kentucky Kentucky 1 2002
Curaçao Curaçao 1 2004

International vs. United States since 1976

Team Championships
International 31
United States United States 34



The regions represented are:

New England (CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT)
Mid-Atlantic (DE, DC, MD, NJ, NY, PA)
Midwest (IA, KA, MN, MO, ND/SD, NE)
Great Lakes (IN, IL, KY, MI, OH, WI)
Southeast (AL, FL, GA, NC, SC, TE, VA, WV)
Southwest (AR, CO, LA, MI, NM, OK, East Texas, West Texas)
Northwest (AK, ID, OR, MT, WA, WY)
West (AZ, Southern CA, Northern CA, HI, NV, UT)

The eight divisions that compete in the International Bracket are Canada, Mexico, Caribbean, Latin America, Japan, Asia-Pacific, Europe-Middle East-Africa and Trans-Atlantic.

The Little League World Series coverage will begin next week on the ESPN networks.  For the complete World Series tv schedule, go to


Leave a Comment